Neuroinflammation, Pain, and Fatigue series of videos, Part 2 – Dr. Jarred Younger

Since the start of this year, Jarred Younger is producing weekly videos on different research- and clinical aspects of ME, Long Covid and Fibromyalgia.

Below are the videos he produced till so far.

For video 1-8 see the March 2024 issue of the ME Global Chronicle.

9. When a grant is rejected

A large remote clinical trial grant we proposed for funding was rejected. This study was on low-dose naltrexone (LDN) and cannabidiol (CBD) for Gulf War Illness treatment.  If you want to hear a bit about how I feel about rejected grants and how I handle them, check out the video.

While this news is disappointing, we fortunately have more accepted grants than rejected ones, and this is just part of the highly competitive process.


10. The Strangest Experiment I Ever Conducted

This is a story about the first experiment I ever conducted, which was also the strangest experiment I ever conducted. It is called “Explanations of the Staring Phenomenon”.


11. Why fractalkine is important in chronic pain and fatigue

I’m presenting results from a new study we published showing fractalkine is abnormal in fibromyalgia. You can obtain the full article at this link. This study was funded by the American Fibromyalgia Syndrome Association (AFSA).


12. Good News from the FDA – Time to Start Scanning!

We have been given the green light for our new scan tracking leukocyte infiltration of the brain. We can now run the first-ever patient! I wanted to share the exciting news.


13. Dextronaltrexone for Chronic Pain and Fatigue

Here is a quick update about my efforts to test dextronaltrexone in chronic pain, fatigue, and cognitive disorders related to brain inflammation. This substance has never been trialed in humans, and I want to tell you why it needs to be prioritized.

14. When glia are the bad guys

I believe microglia are the primary culprit behind fibromyalgia, ME/CFS, Gulf War Illness, Long-COVID, and other chronic pain and fatigue disorders. Here is a quick video on what I am trying to do to fix the problem.


15. Why the microglia have turned against you?

Pathogens, environmental exposures, medications, and your physical and mental states are all potential sensitizers of microglia.

In this video, I cover the most likely triggers of chronic brain inflammation.


16. Could a fecal transfer abolish your chronic pain and fatigue?

A new study suggests that fecal microbiota transplantation (FMT) can significantly reduce fibromyalgia pain, fatigue, and mood problems. I want to share what I think about the study, and what needs to happen next. This is the link to the paper. I don’t think the complete paper is open-access, but if you search the title with Google, you may find it posted somewhere.

17. Remote Clinical Trial Update

I’m busy wrapping up a grant application and just wanted to give a quick update on my remote clinical trials. Next week I will be presenting a new treatment approach for chronic pain, headaches, and anxiety.

18. Green light therapy for chronic pain

Daily green light treatment may reduce fibromyalgia pain by 50%. I’ll cover that research and let you know what I think about the approach. The published report is at this link

19 . Stinging nettle for chronic pain

My clinical research shows that stinging nettle may reduce widespread musculoskeletal pain. I will cover in this talk whether it is worth trying. If you want to see the original study, click on the open-access link


20. Research priorities for the second half of 2024

Today is grant submission day! More on that project later. For now, I wanted to list the major projects I am running in the second half of 2024. While making the list, I realized that my team and colleagues will be very busy for the rest of the year. I’m looking forward to sharing all the news!


21. The brain’s inflammation thermostat Discussion of a new study which identifies a key brain region for upregulating and downregulating inflammation. This site presents a new target for inflammatory and neuroinflammatory diseases. The paper is open-access and available here

Table of contents

Plaats een reactie